Page Header


Murray State College employees to be honored at statewide OACC conference

September 30, 2021


The Oklahoma Association of Community Colleges has recognized three Murray State College employees for exceptional service and each will be presented with awards at its upcoming annual conference. Dan Moore was named Outstanding Faculty Member, while Kandy Rutledge was recognized as Outstanding Professional Staff Member and Carol Smither was Outstanding Support Staff Member.

“One of my greatest honors as president of Murray State is working with outstanding individuals and having the opportunity to recognize them for their talents, achievements and contributions,” said Murray State College President Joy McDaniel.

Moore, MSC’s school of science and agriculture dean, has been teaching at Murray State since 2012, is a professor of human anatomy and physiology and also teaches classes in biology and botany.

Rutledge, MSC’s executive director of academic records and registrar joined MSC in 2017 as Director of Admissions and has served in her current role since July 2018.

Smither, MSC’s technical services/ILL librarian, has worked at MSC more than 37 years, serving the college in a variety of capacities. Smither grew up in Madill and currently resides in Milburn.

The annual awards will be presented at the association's 54th OACC Conference on Friday, October 29, 2021 at Seminole State College with more than 260 college administrators, faculty and staff in attendance in-person and virtually. The honorees will be presented with a gold medallion with the OACC  logo on the front and Outstanding Faculty, Outstanding Professional Employee, or Outstanding Support Staff on the back along with a plaque. All the honorees were selected by a vote of all MSC faculty and staff