Page Header


MSC announces Distinguished Alumni and Athletic Hall of Fame inductees for 2019

September 10, 2019

MSC announces Distinguished Alumni and Athletic Hall of Fame inductees for 2019

Murray State College has announced its Athletic Hall of Fame and Distinguished Alumni inductees to be honored during campus homecoming festivities on Saturday, November 2, 2019. Inductees will be recognized and a luncheon in their honor will begin at 11:30 a.m. in the ballroom on Murray’s campus in Tishomingo.  Cost of the luncheon event is $25 per person, and the public is invited to attend.

“At Homecoming we look forward to welcoming graduates and former students back to campus.  It’s a wonderful time to honor alumni for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the history of Murray State,” said MSC President Joy McDaniel.

Distinguished alumni to be inducted this year are:

James Booker, Sr., Virginia Beach, Va., is a colonel in the Marine Corp. and Executive Pastor of the New Light Full Gospel Baptist Church.   During his distinguished military career, Booker received many awards including the Navy Distinguished Service Medal, two Legions of Merit medals, two Meritorious Service medals, and two National Defense Service medals.

As owner of the Buck Cattle Company, Jirl Buck of Madill, Okla., is recognized for contributions to the bucking bull and show cattle industries.  He is also identified for his commitment to agriculture education, along with his influence on the state’s junior livestock programs.

Donald “Ducky” Day, Sulphur, Okla., has served Oklahoma as a teacher, coach, community leader and faithful volunteer.  At Murray, he served as a dorm proctor, Aggielite news reporter, and member of the rodeo and football teams.  He is recognized as shining example of giving back that has fostered growth and opportunity for new generations of Oklahoma’s students.

Inductees to the Athletic Hall of Fame for 2019 are:

Dempsey Keach Ballard, III, Shawnee, Okla., is one of only three players named 1st Team All American from Murray State Baseball.   He is also

identified as one of the best and most important players on Murray’s 2013 National Championship Team.  He is a member of the coaching

staff at Oklahoma Baptist University.

Buck Chatham, Lone Grove, Okla., will be recognized for his importance as a trainer to nationally ranked basketball teams at Murray State in

the 1960s.  A member of the Oklahoma Coaches Hall of Fame, he has served as a counselor for OK All-State athletic teams since the 1980s.

NJCC All-American Nancy Washington Robinson, Atoka, Okla., will be recognized as a member and leader of MSC’s inaugural intercollegiate women’s basketball team.  Robinson helped guide the 1971-72 freshmen team in their first season of five-on-five competition to back-to-back national championship titles.

Bob Parkhill, Ardmore, Okla., will be recognized for contributions to offense and defense of Murray State’s 1960s nationally ranked basketball teams. Parkhill retired after coaching for 30 years.  Both Parkhill and Chatham were students of the late Coach Gene Robbins.

Tickets must be reserved by October 18, 2019.   Contact Cheryl Phelps at to reserve tickets.  Tickets, at a cost of $25 each, may be paid for at the event by writing a check to the MSC Foundation or mailing in advance to MSC Foundation, One Murray Campus, Tishomingo, OK  73460.  For questions, call Cheryl Phelps at 580-387-7123.