Page Header


Math & Computer Science

The Mathematics Division offers transitional courses in mathematics and general education math courses designed to meet the math requirements needed for multiple fields of study and to provide prerequisites needed to continue more advanced studies in the field of mathematics. Currently, there are three math pathways for degree areas offered at Murray State College. One pathway for science, technology, engineering and mathematics, a second for business, accounting, computer information systems, conservation, or radiology technology related fields and a third pathway for art, child development, communications, education, English, history, graphic design, OTA, PTA health science and nursing, psychology, and sociology.

The Computer Science Division offers general education computer courses as well as computer science specific degrees. Murray State College offers an Associate degree in computer science with an emphasis in mathematics (PDF). Students graduating with this degree will have also met all the prerequisite math requirements to proceed with a BS in mathematics. Degrees in this division also include an Associate in Science Degree in Computer Science (PDF) and an Associate in Applied Science Degree in Computer Information Systems (PDF).


David Brantley
Mathematics and Computer Sciences Division Chair/Professor

(580) 387-7492

Education: Southeastern Oklahoma State University (B.A., MBA)

Background: David Brantley serves as the Mathematics and Computer Sciences Division Chair at Murray State College, routinely teaching Education Technology and Success Strategies courses.  

Brantley earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in mathematics with a minor in Chemistry and a Master of Business Administration from Southeastern Oklahoma State University. He is also a member of Beta Gamma Sigma, the honor society for Business degree recipients and areas of interest include data processing and computer software and hardware.

Christy Uzzel

Mathematics Instructor

(580) 387-7494

Education: East Central University (B.S), Southeastern Oklahoma State University (M.Ed.)