Page Header

Academics

Gunsmithing Program AAS Degree

The first Gunsmithing Program began in 1979 at Murray State College.

MSC Gunsmithing Degree is a 2 year program that teaches all aspects of building and repairing firearms.

The Gunsmithing program students are selected by the Gunsmithing Department Committee. All students must complete 51 credit hours of Gunsmithing courses plus the General Education required courses to graduate with an Associate of Applied Science Degree in Gunsmithing.

Gunsmithing Application and Information.zip

You can request a copy of the Gunsmithing information and application packet by emailing cmercer@mscok.edu or shopson@mscok.edu or by calling our office at 580-387-7480.

Program Information:

Applications are accepted year round. Applications after February 4, 2019 will be considered for the following school year.

Each freshman class begins in the fall semester of each year.

You are welcome to visit the campus anytime and drop by the Courtney Engineering Building to tour the Gunsmithing Department, or Contact the MSC Outreach office to schedule a campus tour at 580-387-7138.

Program Requirements:

  1. MSC Online Application for Admission to be accepted to the college

  2. Gunsmithing Application

  3. Authorized Release of Information form

  • Release form is required for Background check

  • Cover letter with Short Biography, Employment History (See candidate checklist for instructions)

  • All School & College Transcripts

  • Submit a copy of Military DD-214 (if applicable) (must be discharged from active duty by start of fall semester)

  • Attend an In Person Interview

  • All files must be completed before an interview can be scheduled

  • Applications will be accepted year round but if the application comes in after February 3, 2019 the application will be consider for the following school year.

Limit of 30 students are accepted every March.

Applicants interviewed will receive a letter from the Gunsmithing Department regarding their status into the program.

Please Contact the MSC Gunsmithing Department at 580-387-7480 for application package or email us at 

MSC Gunsmithing Department:

Office Hours – 8:00am-5:00pm Monday-Thursday, Fridays 8:00am-12:00pm
580-387-7480.

GS Program Director/GS Instructor: Chad Mercer: cmercer@mscok.edu

GS Instructor: Robert Webb: rwebb@mscok.edu

GS Instructor: John Tremblay: jtremblay@mscok.edu

GS Instructor: Steven Epple: sepple@mscok.edu

GS Instructor: Raymond Self: rself@mscok.edu

Administrative Office Assistant: Sandi Hopson: shopson@mscok.edu

Murray State College
One Murray Campus
Tishomingo, OK 73460

Murray State College Gunsmithing Facebook Page