MSC Nursing grads/awards announced


Forty-seven new registered nurses have entered into the workforce. The nurses graduated from the Murray State College nursing program this spring. At the MSC Pinning Ceremony and an awards luncheon, awards were given to recognize nursing students who achieved significant academic success and to students who personify the highest standards of service, leadership, and character expected of a nurse. Awards were given to students in the traditional class, and in the Career Mobility class. (MSC’s Career Mobility option allows licensed practical nurses and paramedics to earn an Associate of Applied Science degree to become registered nurses through online courses and clinical work.)

“I am very proud of all the 2014 graduating nursing students,” says MSC Nursing Program Director Robin Coppedge. “As the need for health care grows and with the health care reform, registered nurses are in high demand. We will continue to graduate high quality nurses to assist in filling the health care needs.”

This class of nurses participated in the groundbreaking for the new Allied Health expansion back in November, and completed their degree amid the on-going construction. With the expansion of the building, in the future the MSC Nursing Program will have more slots available for applicants.

“We are continually seeking to improve the quality of our program and to promote student success,” says Coppedge. “We are so excited about the construction of the new building that will house the Nursing department. The new state of the art building will facilitate the educational process of the nursing program.”

Awards given to the nursing students are listed below.

Excellence in Service Learning: This is a peer-voted award, and recognizes a career mobility student for outstanding achievement in service learning. Each year one student is honored for his or her exceptional commitment to the community through service learning. Their work exemplifies significant growth and learning related to the four dimensions of service: justice, diversity, compassion and social responsibility.
Awarded to: 1st place - Collin Gordon, 2nd place - Lori Hicks, 3rd place - Elinor Muñoz, and Honorable Mention Meagan Gardner

Legislative Champion: This award is given to a student who has demonstrated exceptional potential to make a lasting contribution to patient care and the nursing profession using the legislative process. Recipients of this award are not only passionate about their topic but possess strong, professional and persuading communication skills; both verbal and written.
Awarded to: Career Mobility student - Jake Foster, and Traditional student- Casey Brown

ATI Proctored Exams Award: This award is given to students who ranked in the 99th percentile or higher in the ATI proctored exams.
Awarded to: Traditional - Anna Delozier and Misty Robbins; Career Mobility- Robin Gordon, Elinor Muñoz, and Melisa Jernigan

Special Friend Award: This award is voted on by the sophomore nursing students and is presented to the sophomore student.
Awarded to: Angela Hawkins

Nursing Program Chair Award for Professional Excellence: Recipients of this award are specially selected by the Nursing Program Chair based on their demonstrable qualities of teamwork, effective communication, flexibility, initiative, and perseverance in the combined academic and clinical settings.
Awarded to: Career Mobility student -Lori Hicks, and Traditional Student - Jonathan Casey Brown

Academic Excellence in Sophomore Nursing: Students were chosen by instructors and program directors in the various disciplines based on academic and classroom performance.
Awarded to: Kristen Pierce and Robin Gordon

MSC Clinical Excellence Award- Award recipients are based on a combination of clinical grades, clinical attendance, professional attitude, and overall clinical performance. Four students are chosen: one student from each traditional clinical group (Ada, Ardmore and Durant) and one from the career mobility group. Recipients exemplify the following characteristics.
• Utilizes theoretical knowledge as a basis for nursing practice
• Demonstrates ability to establish and implement priorities of care
• Is skillful in the application of the decision making process
• Demonstrates professional behavior in the clinical area
• Collaborates in a positive and productive manner with clients, peers, staff and faculty
• Utilizes leadership qualities within the health care delivery system to provide well-managed nursing care
• Consistently utilizes therapeutic communication
• Utilizes time and material efficiently
• Accepts and utilizes criticism as a basis for professional growth
• Demonstrates safe and competent nursing practices
Awarded to: Traditional students, Durant Clinical Group - Jessica McDaniel; Traditional Students, Ada Clinical - Sara Chaffin; Traditional Students, Ardmore Clinical Group - Halie Barton; Career Mobility Students - Leah Newton

Thelma Bidler Award: Given by the Mercy Memorial Hospital in Ardmore for student leadership and achievement in the nursing profession.
Awarded to: Kristen Pierce

Janet Lorentz Award: Voted on by the sophomore students and given to the student for dedication, determination and achievement in the nursing profession.
Awarded to: Misty Robbins

Career Mobility Award: Voted on by the sophomore career mobility students for dedication and compassion for the nursing profession.
Awarded to: Collin Gordon

Back to News Listing
Murray State College Provides Opportunities for
Student Learning, Personal Growth, Professional Success, and Community Enhancement.